The automatic expungement of certain criminal convictions began April 11, 2023 throughout the state of Michigan. The Clean Slate Act allows for individuals to expunge some convictions without undergoing the application process.  

If your record request is for the purpose of applying for expungement, check your public record through the Michigan State Police ICHAT portal here. If your record does not show up, that means it is not on your public record and may have been expunged automatically. 

How can a defendant, defense attorney, or legal aid office confirm whether a charge has been automatically set aside? 

Anyone can conduct a public criminal history search using the Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT) available through the Michigan State Police (MSP). MCL 780.623(3) requires the MSP (upon the payment of a fee) to provide a copy of the set aside conviction to the person whose conviction is set aside. Additionally, Individuals may also come to the Court with photo identification to determine if there is a public record. 

Contact Us

Mailing Address 
40111 Dodge Park Rd
Sterling Heights, MI 48313

Phone Numbers
General: (586) 446-2500
Criminal: (586) 446-2550
Civil: (586) 446-2535
Traffic: (586) 446-2575
Probation: (586) 446-2565

Fax Numbers
Main: (586) 276-4074
Probation: (586) 276-4016

Staff Directory

Requesting Court Records

There are three (3) options for accessing/requesting court records:

  1. Public records can be viewed online at Here, you can see and print the Register of Actions showing court dates, amounts assessed, disposition, sentencing, probation, and any other case actions.                                         
  2. Appear in person to request a copy of the Register of Actions, which can be printed immediately. 
  3. Submit a Record Request Form by mail, email, fax, or in person if requesting copies of file documents. You will need to specify which documents you want copies of. Please allow up to ten (10) days to process your request. You will be contacted by staff regarding the number of pages and the fee amount for your requested documents. Copy fees cannot be paid online or by phone. 

Copies are $1.00 per page 

Certified Copies are $10 for the certification and $1.00 per page

If you would like your Register of Actions or other documents mailed, you must include payment along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your request. 

If you need assistance, please contact the relevant division below:

Phone Numbers
Criminal: (586) 446-2550
Civil: (586) 446-2535
Traffic: (586) 446-2575
Probation: (586) 446-2565

Public Criminal Records or Driving Records

For Criminal Record Checks:  To search or access a public criminal record, go to the Michigan State Police Website at: to obtain information on how to use the Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT) or contact the Michigan State Police Central Records Division at (517) 241-0606.

To obtain a Driving (Traffic) Record: Contact Michigan Department of State Commercial Look-up Unit 7064 Crowner Drive Lansing, MI 48918 Telephone: (517) 322-1624.